Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for February 8th, 2012


risk

Noun: A situation involving exposure to danger.

Verb: Expose (someone or something valued) to danger, harm, or loss.

Synonyms: noun: hazard – peril – jeopardy –   danger – venture – chance  verb. hazard – venture – jeopardize   – adventure – chance

Taking risks is not something I’ve ever been too excited about. I was always the “safe” kid – didn’t want to do anything that might upset my parents, friends or peers. I was more likely not to do something that even looked dangerous. I preferred to go with the flow, maintain the status quo and whatever other clichés are out there. My motto was always “better safe than sorry” and I lived that way quite happily for quite a long time. Or so I thought.

Loving is risky. When you open yourself to love and be loved there is a certain amount of risk you have to be willing to take. Will you be loved in return? Will that person hurt you at some point in your relationship? Will you be rejected outright? Having children can be risky, but oh so rewarding. In reality, living is risky! We take risks every day whether we realize it or not. The key is in our attitude.

When I choose to love, pursue a relationship or even get up in the morning I am taking a risk. Just look at the synonyms above and you’ll see the very thing I’m talking about. You put your life in jeopardy when you get in your car. Take a chance when you make a new friend. Venture into potential peril when you board an airplane. Life is a risk.

So what makes the risk worth it? The end result. Getting in your car may take you to a destination full of joy and happiness. Venturing onto an airplane might lead you to an adventure you’ve always dreamed of. Making a new friend might bring fulfillment to your life in a new dimension. But you’ll never know until you try. Until you take a risk and jump in. Fear not.

I take a risk every time I write a blog. It’s scary, but I’ve been so encouraged by the feedback I’ve received from you that it’s worth it to keep writing.  This joyful journey is a risk. And it’s worth it.

Taking joy in the journey,

Lori

Read Full Post »