Feeds:
Posts
Comments

Archive for January 5th, 2017


Happy New Year! 2017 is already shaping up to be interesting – and that’s putting it mildly. AH (Awesome Husband) and I started Whole30 on Monday and I’ve been surprised at how relatively easy it’s been. Don’t get me wrong. The thought of giving up sugar, bread, pasta, wine, etc. was pretty daunting. I can honestly say I haven’t missed any of it. Yet. But this is just Day 4, so we’ll see how I feel on Day 7!

A little background. In my last post I talked about my weight loss journey that started in 2012. At the time I swore I would never. Repeat, NEVER allow myself to gain any of that weight back. Well, I should have known better than to say NEVER about anything. I didn’t gain it all back, but I gained about 8 pounds of it back. And I could feel every pound. No one else seemed to notice (or were just too kind to say anything), but I did. Enter Whole30. At the urging of the wonderful AAG (awesome family members who will remain anonymous – you know who you are), AH and I decided to jump on the W30 bandwagon. Bless him, AH never seems to have trouble losing weight, but he is a trooper and is in this with me which will make life SO much easier for the next 26 days. Yes, I’m counting down!

What I’m hoping for:

  • Weight Loss (I’m shooting for 10 pounds)
  • Increased energy
  • Decrease in cravings (chocolate and carbs are my downfall)
  • Clear thinking (Anyone else have a foggy brain sometimes? Women of a certain age aka WOCA can relate, I’m sure)
  • Clearer, healthier skin
  • Better sleep
  • Reduction in joint pain (not serious, but annoying)

I plan to chronicle the process here. Feel free to jump in and comment, or just check back occasionally. I’m not sure how often I’ll post, but I promise: I. WILL. FINISH. STRONG!!!

Cheers!

Lori

Read Full Post »